Home Sweet Home

Long trip back.  Arrived in SLC, then drove home to Idaho Falls.  That extra 4 hours was a killer.  The inlaws who have been watching our kids and fur babies knew we were coming in very late, so they just let us slip in quietly so not to wake the kids.  We succeeded to but not with the cat and dog.  They heard us and there was quite the celebration with the dog that ensued.  He cried and wagged his tail and butt so hard.  He wanted me to hold him, then Keith, then he was like never mind and came back to give me more loves.  It took him like 15 minutes to settle down.  It’s nice to be loved ❤️.  The cat made an appearance and tried as usual to be cool.  Kinda gave us the look and the little nod of “sup?”  That is what he does.  Then he hopped up on the bed and waited for the dog’s embarrassing display of excitement to wane.  I got ready for bed pretty fast.  I could barely keep my eyes open.  Climbed in bed and the cat curled up and went purr mode.  I fell asleep.  I love my cat!  This morning I was up at 6:30 with Grandma making a breakfast feast.  Keith went to wake the kids a little after 7 and after they realized it was their Dad they were up and we got round 2 of epic welcome homes and our 18 year olds version of I’m too cool to be excited so here is your nod and “sup?”  It’s true, he is just like the cat!  So we are reunited and happy.  Souvenirs have been passed out the rest should be here by mail.  My dolphin 🐬 magnet is on my fridge.  This morning…the world is perfect.  

3 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. I love your way with words, so vivid. Glad all gave the sup or were more elated. I’m sure that it’ll pale in comparison to how Chip & Frank will receive you upon your return.

Leave a comment