Forty Years in the Wilderness

Land of Enchantment

Keith often jokes with my parents that they have wandered in the wilderness of New Mexico for over forty years. My mother doesn’t think it is funny, but tolerates him and his sense of humor.

Spent the week with all the kids and the dogs helping my parents. A few things I wanted to share. Getting a maid cleaning service was next to impossible. A few I spoke with were short handed and only cleaning for their clients. No one-time cleaning or new clients. How sad is that in missed opportunity? Ended up cleaning before and after the movers arrived on Wednesday.

Mostly my daughter and I were in charge of keeping my mother busy. Intentionally made sure there was no food left in the house. Gave us the excuse to go for lunch and bring something back for the boys and movers. My father was directing traffic and the man in charge. It was awesome to see!

A last meal at my parents on Tuesday evening. Keith and Daddy grilled some T-bones and chicken plus baked potatoes and peas. Homemade vanilla ice cream with butterscotch and apple pie for dessert around the fire pit. Not much has changed in 40 years ♥️

Took the kids up the mountain one last time. Hoping to have a painting done for my parents new home of their mountain in time for Christmas. Fingers crossed! The last two nights my parents stayed with us at the Resort. Loved Thursday night most of all. Watched the movie Interstellar under the stars which was EPIC. Evenings were fun after the hard work. Spa time with a massage and time by the Pool and virgin margaritas and some other creations. Bartender amused me. 😂

A nice getaway for something not really easy to do. Hard to leave a home after 40+ years. Many good memories in Santa Fe and Albuquerque. The Sangre de Cristo Mountains truly are enchanted. Santa Fe is all that!

Leave a comment